I was reading about the Taoistic theory of Passive Action or “we-wei” a call to non-action.

Simply put, by not doing anything you allow for the natural flow of things to run it’s course and problems correct themselves.

For instance if you have a muddy puddle and you get a shovel to get the mud out, you’ll just stir things up and make the puddle foggy and unclear…however if you just let it alone, the dust will settle, so to speak, and the puddle will clear up.

But the mud is still there at the bottom.

Not that there isn’t any validity to the theory. I’m sure sometimes the best thing to do is to not do anything. Or like my mom put’s it, if you don’t know what to do don’t do anything. Although, I don’t know how much stock to put into aphorisms these days.

Maybe I should start making up my own.
“A good book is worth reading twice, a bad book is not worth reading once.”

or

“Happiness is always just around the corner, so is starbucks.”

“Change is like a lot of worthless metal in your back pocket, but I like it.”

So, basically I find myself in a really great place these days, stripped of obligation, commitment, responsi…my brother just called…gtg.

Leave a Reply

